WANZIE.com

Box Office

The Footlight Theatre

Current WANZeGram

Subscribe to the WANZeGRAM

Wanzie Presents

Theater / Venue Quick Links and Numbers

Contact Us

Advertise With Us

 

Sponsored by:

and

 

Movie Posters from Past Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 The Monday Movie Review with WANZIEandDOUG!

The Philips Phile on Real Radio 104.1 FM - Orlando!
Click Here for more on the Philips Phile!
July 2, 2012

WANZIE:
Watch for the rise of child actor Michael Hall DiAdarrio whose performance may be the best thing bout People Like Us. Well,  that and the fact that Chris Pine is one of sexiest actors on the screen at the moment, with his piercing crystal-aqua eyes, chiseled features, and sensual lips. Also Michelle Pfeiffer gives us the most understated character of her career. Not much creativity on the part of the scriptwriter and director as to how the plot (based on a true story) unfolds, but the dialogue and the performances are so good you forgive the fact that this film may be slightly longer than necessary, and the fact that what should be a major plot twist could have been better handled as a later-in-the-film surprise to the audience rather than revealing the situation on which the entire story revolves so early on in the totally linear unfolding of the story. What this film is not is another romance flick. It’s about family dynamics, relationship dysfunction, and self realization. You know the genre. There were quite a few laughs for such a serious film, one really good solid slap in the face, a great fight scene, and more than enough tender (perhaps too tender) moments that none the less made me cry (three times).  Despite its directorial failings and heavy handedness, I enjoyed this film very much, although I feel certain I would have enjoyed it more had it been made by a smaller studio with a director a little more acquainted with the concept of an intimate film.

DOUG

Doug saw this film, but his comments were not on record at the time of this writing.

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 1/2 pink triangles
 
 
June 25, 2012

WANZIE:
An incredibly fast paced animated feature which clips along almost like a live-action summer adventure film. In fact, one of my only two criticisms is that it stays on a singularly frenetic pace through most of the film. The second is the story never induces the tears Walt Disney always counted among the central features crucial to the medium. That not withstanding, the background paintings in this film are stunning, and the computer animation excels to new heights even measured against Pixar’s own already-high bar. BRAVE really is this summer’s first blockbuster, high-energy, action-packed adventure film; and despite its lack of a more palpable cadence, it is thoroughly enjoyable and beautiful to look at. Oh…and much like MULAN and THE PRINCESS FROG, the storyline breaks free of the Disney-fied damsel in distress mode, and allows the Princess to be a hero in her own right, and exude (or in this case, perhaps, even hits you over the head with) female empowerment.

Clever script. Great physical comedy. Lot’s of laughs. Perfect for kids and adult to enjoy together.

Another top notch effort from Pixar, but with too little heart, and nary a tear, which will cost this film a half triangle:
 

DOUG

is on hiatus in NYC and did not see this film.

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 1/2 pink triangles
 
 
June 18, 2012

WANZIE
This is the movie that indicates it will answer the age-old question, where did we come from, but provides few answers. It is the supposed prequel to the motion picture ALIEN, but except for a last minute sequence that seems to be added to, rather than be a part of the movie as a whole, there really is no connection what so ever between the two films. That having been said (well…that and the fact that this film was a blatant rip off of 2001 A Space Odyssey to a very large extent), I must admit it did not fail to grip me. It did not fail to scare me with two or three shriek-out-loud moments. I like that in a sci fi. Despite the very poor script, I was on the edge of my seat throughout a good deal of the film. So, despite too many unexplained pivot points on which the film turned, and despite terrible writing (a scientist screams at the alien as it is killing all the humans present,
“Why do you hate us?” – gag me with a spoon!), I begrudgingly give this movie

DOUG

is on hiatus in NYC and did not see this film.

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 pink triangles
 
 
June 11, 2012

WANZIE
Fabulous costumes, amazing scenic design, and a gazillion dollars worth of eye-popping CGI, and they didn’t know how to tell the story. With a running time of two hours, seven minutes, the film felt like it was four hours long, with a middle section that dragged on at a snail’s pace despite the endless parade of special effects. The script was completely devoid of character development, and there was zero chemistry between Snow White and the Huntsman. The worst flaw of all: Kristen Stewart’s Snow White was quite simply never more beautiful than Charlize Theron as the Evil Queen, which is an essential tenant of the story seemingly overlooked by the filmmakers. Snow White and the Huntsman should win an Oscar for art direction and then have it taken away as a penalty for not being able to get a fairy tale right.

DOUG

Did not see this film, but did see Men In Black 3, which he awarded

4 Pink Triangles.

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2 pink triangles
 
 
May 14, 2012

WANZIE
It’s a very middle of the road approach to storytelling for a film from Tim Burton and Johnny Depp. Johnny’s character is not at all over the top, which I actually found refreshing. But the film as a whole was pretty straightforward in its look and filming techniques. It was as though it fell a little short of what one might expect from this team. Still, I must admit I loved the humor and the fact that they did not take the subject matter as seriously as did the soap opera upon which it’s based. I would imagine staunch fans of the TV version might be disappointed, due to the comedy factor. But the comedy is the redeeming feature of this film. It is also a plus that you need not have been familiar with the TV show to understand or fully enjoy this film. It’s a completely stand-alone piece with really great humor and lots of great one-liners, albeit amid some serious pacing problems. Overall, just a good, perfectly enjoyable movie. Nothing to write home about, but certainly worth the price of a ticket. (Especially at matinee prices.)

DOUG

"Did not see this movie"

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 pink triangles
 
 
May 7, 2012

WANZIE

"Not having ever seen this classic film prior to viewing it this week as per Jim Philips’ request, I can’t even begin to imagine how utterly breathtaking and phantasmagorical this movie must have appeared to be to a 1968 audience. I’m sure I’m not telling more seasoned listeners anything they don’t already know when I say the movie is quite truly visually stunning. I would encourage younger folks to rent it, but, unless they are true aficionados of the art of motion picture making, I doubt the ADD/Video game generation of today has either the patience or the attention span to sit quietly and drink in the perfectly paced, luxuriously lengthy, and cinematically gorgeous segments played out in silence, or to classical orchestrations with little or no “action” on the screen. In fact there is not a single action scene to be found in this wondrous and thought-provoking film (other than a turf war between some primates), which is exactly as this work of art is meant to unfold. I’m afraid sci-fi movie lovers of this generation would give up on the film long before it ends, due to its lack of light saber battles, explosions, and intergalactic shoot outs. But for anyone who loves great filmmaking as opposed to just movie-going, this is a must see movie, and I can’t believe it has taken me 34 years after its release to see it. "

DOUG

"Did not see this movie"

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
5 pink triangles
 
 
April 30, 2012

WANZIE

"Unlike a lot of romantic comedies, the secondary characters were neither caricatures, nor one dimensional. Much has been made of the fact that this movie comes to us from the makers of Bridesmaids, and although it is certainly a funny film, it does not even begin to compare with Bridesmaids. "

DOUG

"All the characters were completely believable, and this was a well-written film; but certainly was not the laugh-a-minute Bridesmaids was. I enjoyed it. But wait for it to come out on Netflix. No need to see it in the theatre."

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2 1/2 pink triangles
 
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2 1/2 pink triangles
 
April 23, 2012

WANZIE

"Exquisite. Breathtaking. A marvel of nature, and of nature cinematography. Unlike most documentaries, you should make a real effort to see this on the big screen."

DOUG

"Fascinating. Beautiful. I loved it, and agree it should be seen in a movie theater; but I would have liked to have actually seen some of the fighting and killing that goes on between the animals rather than Disney editing it so as not to frighten children. "

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 1/2 pink triangles
 
April 16, 2012

WANZIE

"The Cabin In The Woods tried so hard to freshen up the horror/slasher film genre by attempting to blend two distinctly differently styles of storytelling and film making, but to a disappointing end. Despite its many successes, there were just as many total failures, and far too many “that’s too ridiculous to accept” moments, and too many unexplained implausibilities. It was like Friday the 13th meets The Truman Show, but they just couldn’t quite get it right. Still, I was on the edge of my seat for much of the time, and so for that reason only I’m giving it "

DOUG

did not see the movie

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 pink triangles
 
April 2, 2012

WANZIE

"This was a surprisingly good film. It’s really very clever and very funny. The only disappointment may have been Julia Roberts herself as the evil queen but the dwarfs, and the smart writing, and the pitch perfect physical comedy, and the performances by hunky (often shirtless) Armie Hammer and Nathan Lane are so laugh-out-loud funny it’s worth a trip to the Cineplex. I thoroughly enjoyed it."

DOUG

"Julia Roberts was awful; she got everything wrong. The film as a whole was awful. I don’t know what movie Wanzie saw, but it wasn’t the same as I saw. I didn’t laugh once. This movie was a failure."

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!
1 1/2 pink triangles
March 26, 2012

WANZIE

"I would have never chosen to see this movie on my own. I went to it expecting only violence and pandering to teen sensibilities. I left having been taken on an edge of my seat journey that was both harrowing and enjoyable. This was a solid movie with unexpected character development and great story telling. I was completely drawn in to the competition to death while equally amused by the colorful (almost Suess-like) characters of the privileged class. Never read the books. Loved the movie."

DOUG

"I liked it a whole lot more than I thought I would. The bloodshed and violence are all in keeping with the storyline, and never seem gratuitous. There’s the major story of the fight to the death, but there are also ancillary storylines and a nice little love story that doesn’t seem forced or out of place. I still think it’s geared to appeal to teens, but it’s a good movie for anyone to see."

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 1/2 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 pink triangles
March 19, 2012

WANZIE

"A raw, gritty, and unapologetic glimpse into the lives, culture, and judicial system of Iran. This foreign-made gem offers us an air of realism, almost of documentary believability, rarely achieved in Hollywood-made films. A compelling story of family dynamics including divorce, child custody issues, and differing views on how an ailing grandfather should or should not be looked after by the family. An unexpected turn of events brings the separated family back together to answer a charge of murder. Gripping...almost like a good psychological thriller...all owing to the plight of simple people struggling to live life in the 2000's while still respecting the dictates of the Quran. An exquisite film! "

DOUG

"Did not see the movie"

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
5 pink triangles
 
March 12, 2012

WANZIE

Did not see this movie

DOUG

"I don't even know how to categorize this movie. It failed as a comedy, if that's what it was trying to be. It didn't qualify as a drama. It wasn't even good enough to be called a chick flick or a romantic comedy. What it was, was a big failure. I wasted $10.50 and two hours of my life on this mess of a film. Do not waste your money. Do not see this miserable movie."

  One Pink Triangle!
1 pink triangles
February 20, 2012

WANZIE

"Not nearly as sappy as I anticipated it would be. A fascinating true story that renewed my faith in the in the generally failed institution of opposite-sex marriages. (just a little). Worth a look see."

DOUG

"Did not see the movie"

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 pink triangles
 
February 13, 2012

WANZIE

"A sweet movie based on a true story. Be sure to watch the credits to see lots of real footage and authentic photos of the people, whales, and incidents being portrayed in the film. Ted Danson outshines (in a supporting role,  both Drew Barrymore and John (The Office) Krasinski. I encourage listeners to see the film, but I would rush out to see it in the theatre. Save a little money and catch it on demand latter in the year."

DOUG

"It was a very sweet movie based on a true story, and I always like that. It was certainly very interesting but nothing to write home about.  Some bad direction going on there from time to time. I'd say see it, but wait for rainy day and watch it at home."

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2 1/2  pink triangles
February 6, 2012

WANZIE

"It was so refreshing to see a horror movie that has a completely fleshed out and intelligent storyline. It is also interesting that there are 15 minute-long segments of the film when not a word is spoken and yet the audience remains completely captivated. One of the very few excellent movies this genre has offered up in quite some time."

DOUG

"This movie is SCAR-RY and not from blood and gore. It's based on the only theatrical play I've ever seen where I was scared at a live show. You "no" you don't think of Daniel Radcliff as Harry Potter when you are watching it. I give it a really solid - 3 1/2 Pink Triangles"

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 1/2  pink triangles
January 30, 2012

WANZIE

"Glenn Close gives the defining performance of her career! This sad touching film is gritty and believable in it's exploration of the class system of the day. Great performance all round. A solid piece of movie making with no discernable cgi or matte paintings. It's all about the words and the situations. Straight men, by and large, will hate it. Women and gay men will love it."

DOUG

"I thought you could tell right off who was a woman and who wasn't even if you had never seen Glenn Close. Regardless, this was a great story. A beautifully and sad film worth seeing in the theater."

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 1/2  pink triangles
January 23, 2012

WANZIE

"Tom Hanks' supporting character was quirky, and not in a good way. Forced. I hated the fact that 9/11 as the cause of his death was completely inconsequential to the story being told. This was NOT a 9/11 story. It was a story about passages and letting go. 9/11 was used superfluously to "get" you. It was transparent and emotionally manipulative. Not impressed."

DOUG

Did not see the movie

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2 pink triangles
 
January 16, 2012

WANZIE

“To put it in a nutshell it's GLEE meets SISTER ACT. If you like either of those two vehicles you're enjoy this film. And if you don't care for either the film is worth seeing for the movie debut performance up & comer, lick-a-licious Jeremy Jordan who will soon star in Disney's NEWSIES on Broadway."


 

DOUG

"It's two hour of enjoyable fluff. Nothing to rush to see, but perfectly enjoyable for an afternoon of escape."

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2 1/2  pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2 1/2  pink triangles
January 9, 2012

WANZIE

“An epic war film, an intimate slice-of-life peek at simple folk of a bygone era, an action film, an examination of the human heart, and the animal sprit all rolled into one. An amazing cinematic achievement that will leave you breathless."


 

Doug did not review this film
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 1/2  pink triangles
 
January 2, 2012

WANZIE

You must see the wonderfully delightful silent film THE ARTIST, playing exclusively at The Enzian Theatre in Maitland. If I had been on the air this week, I would have given this film 5 Pink Triangles. It is an ingenious, clever, entertaining, and amazing piece of filmmaking. THE ARTIST is quite literally one of the best motion pictures of all time!"

 
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
5  pink triangles
 
December 19, 2011

WANZIE

“After seeing several movies that dragged on unnecessarily, it was so nice to experience a movie I was sorry to see end. Intelligent writing. Smart acting. Believable story. A solid piece of filmmaking."

DOUG

“Charlize Theron is stunning. She is as talented as she is beautiful. This is a simple, beautifully acted film. Really, really good."

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4  pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4  pink triangles
December 12, 2011

WANZIE

“It’s perfectly enjoyable, but all the talent is under-utilized, and it is 30 minutes longer than it needs to be. Wait and see it on NetFlix.”

DOUG

Long. Not very good. Not very clever. No need to go see it in the theatre. Not a bad rainy day rental.”

One Pink Triangle!
1 1/2 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2  pink triangles
December 5, 2011

WANZIE

“It’s not every day you get to see people screaming at a catatonic woman on her death bed about the things she’s done wrong in her life. An engaging story about death and dying, redemption, deception, forgiveness, and growing up; and ultimately about our connection to the land on which we walk. A beautiful film.”

DOUG

“Every last person in this movie gives a remarkable performance. George Clooney will get an Oscar nomination, and so will the young actress playing his daughter. It’s the third film I’ve seen in a row that made me cry. A good solid movie.”

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4  pink triangles
November 18, 2011

WANZIE

" A gorgeous film to look at. Beautifully acted, with Ben Kingsly, and Sasha Baron Cohen playing a serious role. The trailers lead me to believe it would be a fantasy film of sorts. But not so. Very different from what I expected, with a most interesting back-story. "

DOUG

" It was a beautiful, beautiful film with a wonderful story. I loved it! "

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 1/2 pink triangles
November 14, 2011

WANZIE

"This movie manages to evoke sympathy and compassion for a monster of sorts. Engaging. Brilliant acting. Ultimately a same- sex love story. "

DOUG

"This movie is ssssssllllllllllooooooooowwwwwwwww. It was 2 hours and 25 minutes and it felt even longer. It was all stuff you mostly knew anyway and just took for-e-ver to get even the smallest plot points across. Army Hammer is really hot but even he could not save this dud. "

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 pink triangles
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
2 pink triangles
November 7, 2011

WANZIE

"Did not see this movie "

DOUG

"If you are a 17 year old stoner you will love this movie. It is pure silliness. There is a hot Korean guy in it so I love it."

Fail One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
3 pink triangles
October 31, 2011

WANZIE

"Fresh and original. Smartly written. One of those rare films that could only work as a film. Justin Timberlake proves himself to be an excellent actor."

DOUG

"Did not see this movie"

One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!
4 pink triangles
Fail
October 24, 2011

WANZIE

"Possibly the worst movie I’ve ever seen. Certainly the worse horror or suspense film I’ve ever seen. Nothing is explained. The pace was maddenly slow. They spent about 10 thousand dollars tops to make this complete dog of movie that was number one at the box office” – Wanzie

DOUG

"Did not see this movie"


1/2 pink triangles
Fail
The Pink Triangles!
It's all about the pink triangles folks!  Yes, every now and then the guys actually discuss movies.  And in doing so, they generally share what they liked or didn't like about the movie, or even the movie-going experience.  We capture a few of those quotes here.  But it really comes down to the triangles.  Here's what they represent:
One Pink Triangle! Stinko. Not worth seeing under any circumstances.
 One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle! Below average. Not worth the cost of admission plus the gas to get to the theater. Wait for it to come to cable.
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle! A competent, entertaining film. Nothing extraordinary, but certainly worth the ticket price.
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle! Excellent. Highly recommended.
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle! A Classic! A must-see film that should absolutely be experienced in a proper theater setting.
October 17, 2011

WANZIE

"I went expecting to hate it and ended up being thoroughly entertained. Nothing brilliant but certainly a solid remake as far as remakes go."

DOUG

"It was so much better than I thought it would be...I mean everyone kept dropping out as the lead and they had to settle on a relatively unknown kid... it was actually pretty good and if your a teenage girl it'll be like a wet dream."


3 pink triangles

3 pink triangles
September 26, 2011

WANZIE

"White knuckle action film with wonderful actors playing against type. Ryan Gossling is amazing. A nerve wracking film with a great deal of violence but none of it gratuitous. One of the best-acted well-crafted and believable action films I've ever seen. "

DOUG

"Great action but slow and boring. Ryan Gossling falls in love with a woman in about two seconds, as if that ever really happens. Don't know what all the hype is about. "


4 pink triangles


2 1/2 pink triangles

August 1, 2011

WANZIE

"A totally engaging film in which the surprise twists and turns just keep on coming. A smart, cerebral comedy in which Steve Carell gets to show his more serious acting chops; Julianne Moore is as wonderful as ever; Marisa Tomei is an absolute hoot; Emma Stone is precious; and Ryan Gosling is not only pitch perfect in his characterization of the lucky-in-bed-but-unhappy-in-life-play boy ,but on  the physical side, is also disarmingly more luscious than a frozen banana dipped in Godiva dark chocolate. Nothing says it better than a line in the movie directed at Gosling's character after he takes his shirt off during foreplay: “Seriously? You look like you've been photo shopped."

DOUG

"Everyone in this film is perfectly cast. It is very funny, yet I would not call it a comedy. It's more a relationship drama that is laced with comedy. It's one of the best written scripts of all the movies this year. I loved it."


4 pink triangles


4 1/2 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets

July 25, 2011

WANZIE

"The CGI is amazing! I know nothing about Captain America, and I was totally captivated. I was struck by the sweetness of the movie as a whole ,and the complete likability of the main character who is not only beautiful visually, but comes off as a genuinely compassionate super hero. A great story is told. "

DOUG

"That Chris Evans is A MACHINE! The movie was much more engaging than I ever imagined it could be. "


3 1/2 pink triangles


3 1/2 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets

May 9, 2011

WANZIE

"A very fun and funny movie. Very much in the vain of a Tyler Perry film but without all the overly melodramatic preachy monologues that tend to always bog down his films. Loretta Devinne is a treasure of a meanie in this film. Love her! A neatly assembled web of interwoven story lines that all come together and make sense and nonsense. Most enjoyable."

DOUG

"Awful. Just awful. Angela Basset played the one and only character she ever plays. Loretta Devine was too mean to be believable, and Paula Patton just flat out cannot act. Plus there were, like, 15 different story lines going on. See it at home on a rainy day, but even then I wouldn't pay for it!"


3 1/2 pink triangles


2 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets

April 4, 2011

WANZIE

"It's a must see documentary in terms of the amazing statistics and situations it presents. It'll startle you and make you mad in the way an expose' of this ilk should, but it's not a really great piece of film making."

DOUG

"It's crazy to think that there are 30 U.S. states that allow people to raise exotic wild animals in their homes and 9 states don't require any licensing, filing, or proof of ability to handle, let's say lions!...really interesting film that is very unsettling."


3 pink triangles


3 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets

March 14, 2011

WANZIE

"Not so good. I'll admit I laughed out loud a few times but overall it was labored and predictable. As much as I didn't care for it I feel fairly certain it's a perfect date movie for most straight couples (identifiable relationship issues and a happy ending for the ladies; male bonding and big tits for the guys) but only if they've been together for some time and only if they don't care about a good script. "

DOUG

"Awful" Just awful" Joy Bahar is in it for only 5 minutes and she manages to be awful. When the funniest part of the movie has to do with scat..."


2 1/2 pink triangles


2 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets | Movie Trailer

March 7, 2011

WANZIE

"Did not see the movie this week. I was still recovering from my birthday celebration."

JANA BANANA

"I really didn't like it. There were too many ridiculous things you had to accept as being real in order for any of it to make sense. It was too contrived."

DOUG

"I really liked it - and it's hard to talk about it without giving too much away. It's a cross between THE TRUMAN SHOW (except the puppeteers pulling the strings are doing it to people all over the real world) and THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE. "


2 yellow bananas


3 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets | Movie Trailer

February 21, 2011

WANZIE

"The first one was funny. It was a mixture of Big Momma and Lady Bugs. This one was not so much. It was crap. Don't go see it."

DOUG

"The first one was funny. This one was horrible. It stunk. Don't rent it. "


1 pink triangle


1 pink triangle

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets | Movie Trailer

February 14, 2011

WANZIE

"If you're Catholic you will find it interesting. The visual effects are mostly skin being charged and veins popping out. "

DOUG

Did not see the movie this week.


2 1/2 pink triangles

 

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets | Movie Trailer

February 7, 2011

WANZIE

"It's very blue. This movie plays out like someone's vlog. The entire movie is about their relationship problems. You don't catch them acting 1 second. The whole movie is them talking about their problem and they never say anything. You get it all by their looks and their tonality. It played off like no movie I have ever seen before. It played as so real and very creepy. It's just brilliant."

DOUG

" It was very blue and very depressing. The acting is amazing. It's very real. It's a strange movie which is painful to watch, but life is painful...and this is a slice of life."


4 1/2 pink triangles


4 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets | Movie Trailer

January 24, 2011

WANZIE

"Christian Bale was very good. I do not think this was the best film of the year. I really really enjoyed the story. It was based on a true story. The mother was absolutely magnificent.  "

DOUG

"This is my favorite movie of the year. I loved loved loved it. Christian Bale will win the Oscar. The story nailed the family dynamic. It's one of my top ten movies of all times. I would watch it again tomorrow. "


4 pink triangles


5 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets | Movie Trailer

January 10, 2011

WANZIE

"Geoffrey Rush is just amazing! He stole the show. He can do anything. People in general won't like this movie. It's dialogue driven. No one takes off their clothes. There is no action, an no blood. A huge demographic just won't get it."

DOUG

"Colin Firth was great but Geoffrey Rush was amazing. The movie was funny and intense. I cried. The movie proves you can do anything if you put your mind to it."


5 pink triangles


5 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets | Movie Trailer

January 3, 2011

WANZIE

"It is a classic! Bridges' performance is magnificently understated and that girl is simply wonderful! I also love the cinematic and art direction grittiness of this True Grit."

DOUG

"It was really wonderful, but I don't know why everyone is carrying on about that girl's performance. You get any kid to memorize lines and people think they are wonderful."


4 pink triangles


4  1/2 pink triangles

Official Movie Website | Show times and Tickets | Movie Trailer

The Pink Triangles!
It's all about the pink triangles folks!  Yes, every now and then the guys actually discuss movies.  And in doing so, they generally share what they liked or didn't like about the movie, or even the movie-going experience.  We capture a few of those quotes here.  But it really comes down to the triangles.  Here's what they represent:
One Pink Triangle! Stinko. Not worth seeing under any circumstances.
 One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle! Below average. Not worth the cost of admission plus the gas to get to the theater. Wait for it to come to cable.
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle! A competent, entertaining film. Nothing extraordinary, but certainly worth the ticket price.
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle! Excellent. Highly recommended.
One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle!One Pink Triangle! A Classic! A must-see film that should absolutely be experienced in a proper theater setting.
Past Movie Reviews:
Click here for a larger photo Click here for a larger photo Click here for a larger photo
Click here for a larger photo Click here for a larger photo
Youth in Revolt Youth in Revolt Click here for a larger photo Click here for a larger photo Click here for a larger photo
Click here for a larger photo Click here for a larger photo The Blind Side
The Blind Side Click for a larger photo Click here for a larger photo Click here for a larger photo
Click here for a larger photo
Click here for the review Click here for the review Click here for the review Click here for the review Click here for the review

Box Office | The Footlight Theatre | Current WANZeGRAM | Subscribe to the WANZeGRAM
Wanzie Presents | WANZeGRAM Ad Rates | Ticket Policy
Theatre & Venue Quick Links | Contact Us

© Michael Wanzie